Breakout Player of the Year Award

Awarded by Nomination Vote & Jury


Awarded to the poker player in Europe without a major poker title* heading into 2014 who enjoyed a breakout year on the live tournament circuit this season as judged by the nomination panel and the members of the jury.

*Players who have won a WPT or EPT Main Event and/or a WSOP bracelet or any High Roller or Super High Roller tournament prior to Dec, 31 2013 do not qualify for this category.

This category replaces the previous “Rookie of the year” category. In 2012, Ole Schemion was crowned Rookie of the Year in Europe. One year later, Schemion was ranked #1 on the GPI World Poker Rankings, proving that the previous season was not a fluke.


Previous Rising Star of the Year Winners:

2013- Adrian Mateos Diaz (ESP)
2012- Ole Schemion (GER)
2011- Andrey Pateychuk (RUS)
2010- Jake Cody (UK)
2009- Antoine Saout (FRA)
2008- Ivan Demidov (RUS)
2007- Soren Kongsgaard (DEN)
2006- Mats Iremark (SWE)
2005- Patrik Antonius (FIN)
2004- Jani Sointulla (FIN)
2003- Juha Helppi (FIN)
2002- Kiril Gerasimov (RUS)
2001- Alexander Kravchenko (RUS)